Notices

I am an Alcoholic and I need Help!!

Old 06-17-2012, 12:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I am an Alcoholic and I need Help!!

It's so refreshing yet depressing at the same time to utter those words. I have been saying I was in control for the past 6 years. I'm 28, and I admit I am a full on alcoholic who has no control and in need of desperate help. I started drinking heavily senior year of college in the fraternity after football ended. Since then I have been a binge drinker. I am a functional alcoholic in the sense that I can maintain a job, have a girlfriend, and friends. None of whom know the deep dark secret of my nightly life. They all know I like to party and can party hard on occasions but they have no clue behind my smile and acceptance of that lifestyle there is a man losing everything.

Since I work at home now instead of an office, for the last year I have been drinking during the day just to get the buzz. Then having dinner with my girlfriend, hanging out with my family, etc. They have no clue that I just drank a quarter of a fifth. My girlfriend has no clue I'm an alcoholic to the extent I am. She complains about me drinking too much if we go to parties or have barbeques at the house, but she has no clue that every night I say good night to her I am wasted. I hide it very well and always have been able too. I can be almost blacked out drunk and she can not tell on the phone that I am wasted out of my mind.