Notices

Drunk again!

Old 06-10-2012, 11:16 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Drunk again!

Hi my name is colin from uk and new to any kind of forum so please be patient.I have had a problem with abusing alcohol for the best part of thirty years(Im 43).I have lost friendships,relationships,jobs and my will to live on many occasions trying to drink properly.I have been attending AA for 7 Years almost consistently and got 3 and half years sober at one time.Do not know if I can face all the long time sober people that seem to attend the group I go to and feel there smugness again and feel very underacheaved and little.Would just like to be happy in life sober but find it hard particularly in times of stress.My last drinking after 2 years sober was 2 cans of beer one night,week later 2 cans of beer,week later stressful sitution coming up next day drank all night to pyscally not able to drink any more.My will to keep trying is thin and understand when AA says people go to lengths of insanity or death now.Thanks for reading.
Old 06-10-2012, 11:24 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by colinw View Post
I have lost friendships,relationships,jobs and my will to live on many occasions trying to drink properly.I have been attending AA for 7 Years almost consistently and got 3 and half years sober at one time.
Welcome to SR colinw....I'm not sure what drinking properly is...But it sounds like something I can't do. Did you ever work the 12 steps with a sponsor in your 7 years in AA?
Old 06-10-2012, 11:25 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
SR Fan

Welcome Colin!

You not alone and you picked a great place to come to! I had some good sobriety time, too - in fact, I got sober twice and went to AA faithfully for years inbetween relapses. I still don't entirely understand what I was thinking when I started drinking again. Duh....

I know you'll find lots of support here - this place motivated me to get sober again and continues to be my lifeline. Welcome to our family!
Old 06-10-2012, 11:28 AM