Notices

Two for the Price of One!

Old 05-23-2012, 09:48 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Two for the Price of One!

Obvious noob here so quick take on me for any who care to know. I'm 58, alcoholism is rampant throughout both sides of my family, married 34 years to the most wonderful woman alive, empty-nester with 2 grown kids with plenty of problems of their own. Upper-middle class, home in the burbs. Professional man, wife is a professional woman. She's a moderate alcoholic (2-3 glasses of wine every night). I'm a serious alcoholic (6-8 beers every night) AND I am addicted to hydrocodone (moderately so....I take two 350/7.5 mg tabs every night, rarely if ever more than that).

Tried to quit drinking cold-turkey (ha!) last September and the withdrawal was so bad I couldn't wait to start drinking again. Tried same thing with the hydrocodone with same result. I need to find some way to get help without it becoming a showcase event in either my private or professional life. No offense to those who believe but AA and/or faith-based programs ARE NOT for me.

Looking for some advice on the following questions:

1) Does anyone have any suggestions on what order each addiction should be addressed? If someone is a boozer and junkie like me, which one should I try to rid myself of first? Or, should I approach them simultaneously?

2) Has anyone ever tried the "Last Call" program for alcohol addiction? If so, what was the result? How much does it cost? The website doesn't tell you. I can't post the hyperlink since I don't have a sufficient post-count but drinklessnow.com is the website.

3) Has anyone here ever been though a hydrocodone addiction program that was successful? Does anyone know of any effective methods to reduce the effects of withdrawal?