Notices

what about nonalcoholic wines and beers?

Old 05-13-2012, 07:38 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

what about nonalcoholic wines and beers?

Just wondering what you all think about nonalcoholic drinks. I know someone who drinks the nonalc. beer and feels no effect (she's been in AA for a long time). I'm wondering, though, if this is a slippery slope. I'm new to recovery so probably not a good choice for me. Have any of you tried this?

Zorah
Old 05-13-2012, 07:43 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Fdm

I would not.
Old 05-13-2012, 07:48 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Apparently some can do it, but it's a no from me.

When I was trying to quit and I drank non alc beer I found myself indulging in the same behaviours and mind processes that I did when I drank normal beer...it wasn't long before I went back to the real stuff because I missed the buzz.

I was like a rocket primed and ready...just waiting on the fuel.

You have to ask yourself really - there's a world of truly non alcoholic drinks out there that won't remind you of what you used to drink - why not pick those?

D
Old 05-13-2012, 07:49 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I convinced myself that they were harmless early on in my sobriety. I soon realized that they were not good for me.
Old 05-13-2012, 07:53 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I think they're a great idea for nonalcoholic drinkers. But I can't imagine wanting to replicate any aspect of active alcoholism.
Old 05-13-2012, 08:04 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

I tried NA beer, I'm back trying to sober up now (got three weeks so far)
Old 05-13-2012, 11:28 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  

I had a guy ask about this in a meeting one time. And a good friend of mine responded..."I didn't get rid of my ex wife...Just so I could go out and find someone just like her." ....I don't know. I guess that just kind of summed it up for me.
Old 05-13-2012, 11:33 PM
  # 8 (permalink)  
Recovering

They didn't work for me either.
Old 05-13-2012, 11:40 PM
  # 9 (permalink)