Notices

Hi...new girl here

Old 04-26-2012, 12:26 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi...new girl here

Just wanted to say hi and introduce myself.

I am a 25 yr old graduate student and I cant seem to stop drinking. The truth is, the only reason I'm in grad school is because I dont think I could hold down a job right now. I know that sounds awful, but its true. My drinking has become progressively worse over the past few years, but I managed to graduate university and be accepted into a grad program, I have no idea how I managed to do either. Everything else in my life is falling apart. My relationships are in shambles and I cant concentrate on anything other than when I can have my next drink. I know I havent hit rock bottom yet, only because I am fortunate enough to have a 'sugar daddy' who supports me financially. But I feel myself slipping away and it scares me. I scare myself.
Old 04-26-2012, 12:31 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR.
Everyone's rock bottom is different. I didn't have any DUI's, or financial issues, or end up homeless, before I came to admit to myself that I had a drinking problem. You choose your own bottom. The good news is with the right program and lots of support you can beat this addiction to alcohol. You've taken the first step. Then next is a big one. Stop drinking today.

I'm only on day 2. You are among like minds here.
Old 04-26-2012, 12:33 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome :-) I was the same as you, hadnt quite hit rock bottom..but was sinking big time!! Booze rules my life, i was consumed by it..planning my next sesh was my main priority! This place is great for making you realise your problems and knowing you aint alone :-) xx
Old 04-26-2012, 12:33 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi Tuesday! Welcome to SR There is a lot of support here, so stick around. As for drinking, it is a progressive disease. It only gets worse, it doesn't get better. Sounds like you have some time to stop and repair the damage already done before it is irreparable.