Notices

Day 0

Old 04-18-2012, 10:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 0

Hi all,

My name is jayd(not my real name) and I'm a third year law student. I graduate on May 11, and I will sit for the bar on July 24 and 25. By September, I should be licensed to practice law. That's the life goal I have my focus set on right now, and why I've chosen right now to try to get my drinking under control.

I've been very lucky I think that my drinking habits have not hurt anybody or myself very seriously, although I've had some close calls and things I'm ashamed of. I'm well liked and respected among my peers, professors and administrators at my school. I get good grades and will graduate cuum laude...but recently the professor I respect most and my best friend at school separately took me aside to say they were surprised I was not graduating with higher honors. I am a bit disappointed in myself too, and I'm pretty sure I can chalk it up to my drinking problems. The days that I don't have at least a mild hangover in my morning classes are rare. I lose probably 2-3 hours of productivity every day due to drinking as soon as I finish classes for the day.