Notices

Hello from a Newbie!

Old 04-14-2012, 03:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello from a Newbie!

Hey y'all, I am new to SR and want to introduce myself. I am on day 3 after a relapse this week, but not entirely new to sobriety. I've quit drinking several times before, my longest stint being 6 years in my 20s - early 30s. However, since 2009 I have had many slips - too many to count. I seem to be able to go weeks and even months without drinking a drop, but then have a night where I really go wild and wake up with the worst hangover, promising to never do it again. I've been through outpatient treatment, I've been to AA meetings, I've also been to Women For Sobriety meetings. I am so sick and tired of being sick and tired! I've recently been through a divorce, and I know my slippery slope was related to the pain and suffering I've endured through the difficult times in my marriage and the subsequent split. However, I should have been on the up and up, since the worst of it is over, but I apparently need more than just myself to pull out of this self-destruction. It truly is self-destructive drinking - once I start, my warped brain says, I better get all my drinking in now because this is my last drunk ever!!! So, my last drink was 3 nights ago, and I am concentrating on one day at a time. I think one of my biggest problems is not wanting to be known as an alcoholic or problem drinker (so much for those that have encountered me while intoxicated)- how I wish I could have one beer so badly! However, as you all know so well, one is NEVER enough.....I need to fully accept that I can NOT drink. Thanks for all your support.
Old 04-14-2012, 03:43 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

good to have you with us kittycat

D
Old 04-14-2012, 03:47 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Choosing Life

Glad you're here!
Old 04-14-2012, 03:57 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
stepping on my way...

Hi Kitty - Welcome! You are on day 3 and well on your way. Stick to it!! Best of luck!