Notices

I finally decided to take the road to recovery

Old 04-12-2012, 05:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I finally decided to take the road to recovery

Hey all. This is my first post and I am proud to say I finally decided I needed to stop. I have been drinking more than normal for about 4 years now. After my divorce I chose alcohol to help me sleep and deal with all the crap going through my head. About a year a go I realized I had become a functional alcoholic but did nothing about it because, well, why I was functioning. For the past year I have been drinking a pint of vodka night and on weekends I will sometimes drink two fifths and could time it all out to get to work sober and excel at my job.

Well suddenly the last few months have been getting out of control. I would find my self showing up to work with the shakes counting down the time till the clock hit 5 so I could go home and dive into my pint. Alcohol no longer helped me sleep. I would drink till bed time only to wake a few hours later wanting to drink more so I could get back to sleep.

Well I decided enough is enough and I dont want something controlling me like this and after much research I decided to quit cold turkey.

Day one was not so bad it just like a normal hung over day until bed time came around. I had cold sweats really bad soaked my sheets and cloths several times and got 0 sleep.

Day two was off the charts!! I was so tired at work and was shaking so bad I could not even write my name. By the end of the day I started feeling a little better but still 0 sleep and severe cold sweats.

Day 3 shakes where not so bad but I was exhausted and had little motivation. But after being up for nearly two days I finally got some sleep but woke up several times from some terrifying nightmares and cold from being all sweaty.

I am on day 4 still a little shaky but I feel rested and hungry. I haven't felt hungry in the morning in ages.