Notices

Willpower and the broken record

Old 04-07-2012, 06:12 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Willpower and the broken record

Hi,

I'm 29 and pretty much for the last 10 or so years I've been unable to escape the vicious cycle.

ATM my preference is for Ice. The gateway is always alcohol.

From the age of 15 I've slowly crept through the drug food chain from alcohol, cigarettes to a heavy dependence on weed. Found myself with exctacy whilst dabbling in amphetamines. Got over the daily weed addiction, and seemed to be getting on track.

About 4 yrs ago I lost a relationship that was admittedly toxic but meant everything to me as my personal family life is a joke.

From then I started to smoke speed which led me to find Ice which is by far the most dangerous place I've been.

Problem is, one side of my life is ok. I'm studying my second degree. Holding down (just) a decent paying job but I'm miserable.

I have chronic sleeping problems, and no real ability to get a loving relationship in my life. I constantly find that I'm juggling the week to week financial situation and have no assets.

The only time I find freedom is drugs which scares the **** out of me. I'm worried I'm going to just continue through this state of flux until I die.

I've tried NA and AA they are not for me. So I'm here. Day 1. Praying to whoever I bloody can that I can find some sort of strength or peace within to move past this phase of my life.

Literally, the only thing holding me back from the dwelling and pity in this stagnant life I live is to find a way out of this mess.

So ive come here to try and find some support. Cheers to anyone that can offer words of advice right now.
Old 04-07-2012, 06:19 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by lucidelusions View Post
Hi,

I've tried NA and AA they are not for me. So I'm here. Day 1. Praying to whoever I bloody can that I can find some sort of strength or peace within to move past this phase of my life.