Notices

Day 2

Old 04-02-2012, 01:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 2

Wow I feel rather lousy -- didn't really sleep last night. My plans for today were overly ambitious and so now I'm going to take it easy and focus on physical recovery. I know that anxiety is a major symptom at this point, and boy do I have it!

I'm still quite frightened by my financial and legal situations, but sitting around being scared isn't making it any better. I know a bit about Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, so I'm trying to apply that. I'm relieved that my judgment will likely never show on my credit report -- on the other hand I'm scared, as I have been for years, about how to make it through the year financially as my ex may find some way to grab part of my income, if he can figure out how it works. I don't even have a job -- I'm an inactive writer living on dwindling royalties and piecemeal work (gee, wonder how that happened)? One court date in one state later this month with my DUI date in another state three days later. I know all this will pass, but ugggghhhhh. And between my credit and the DUI, not to mention a work history that's difficult to explain, I'm anticipating having a lot of trouble finding a job at 52.

Now is not the time to be making big decisions like that anyway. I guess continuing to write -- when I'm clear again -- is likely the way to go. Then there are no regular wages to garnish (it comes in advances and royalties a couple times a year, or for entertainment like films, on a project basis) and if you're active enough, there are good union benefits. Maybe I can write about this.

This will sound weird, but I was so hyper and panicky this morning that I took the only thing I had in the house -- a Sominex. Didn't help me sleep last night, but it definitely quelled the anxiety, and since now I'm a little slow I guess I'll have to put off anything complicated like decoding the genome, at least til tomorrow.