Notices

Unemployment Hell

Old 03-29-2012, 09:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unemployment Hell

I've been out of work for almost two years now. I graduated college in December 2009. I have worked steadily from the time I was a teenager up until June 2010. I worked the overnight shift in a warehouse until the warehouse shutdown and moved out of state. I haven't been able to find steady work since. I worked in a produce warehouse last year for a few days but quit because no one at the job spoke any english and the cost of gas ate up too big of a chunk of what I was earning at the place working minimum wage. I got hired by a temp agency a little over a week ago and they don't have any work yet. I'm afraid they might never have any work.

I have had nearly ten interviews for jobs in my college-educated field of study since graduating. However, some of these interviews were nerve-wracking group interviews where I was looking at my competition of 7-8 people in the face all clamoring for a single available position. In other interviews was told that I was competing against much more qualified candidates who had years and years of professional work experience. I did an internship before I graduated college. I have been volunteering in creating and updating a local church's website for free for a year now to gain experience. However, I feel these efforts may be in vain seeing as even Ivy-League graduates and people with decades of work experience are among the ranks of the long-term unemployed these days.

I am willing to work anywhere. However, it is hard as hell to get any job these days. Illegal immigrants dominate all manual labor and basic service jobs where I live. And every American-born Tom, Dick and Jane goes to college and is fighting for the very few available White collar jobs around.