Notices

First time trying to stop using...I need help

Old 03-25-2012, 06:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy First time trying to stop using...I need help

Hi everyone. I am 32 and my life is unbearable. I am addicted to meth and Vicodin and also take other pills. My story is like so many others. I have always had a hard time feeling good about myself. I was an overachiever in school as well as an athlete. I went to college on full athletic scholarship and during my sophomore year, I was raped. I had been treated for depression in high school but after the rape I became so depressed that I attempted suicide. I was angry and hated myself.
The summer after my sophomore year I went home knowing I couldn't go back to college. I also met the man I would marry. At first this man gave me confidence and I felt safe. I graduated college in my hometown and got married. After just few weeks, my husband began physically and emotionally abusing me. He also forced himself on me whenever he wanted. I was trying so hard to be normal while I taught school but I was falling apart.
Eventually I found out my husband was using and dealing meth as well as cheating on me. I had become so devoid of self worth I still stayed with him after he got a girl pregnant. My husband told me he was with her because she used drugs and I did not. So I said I'd try meth. That was October 2005. Since then I got divorced, went to jail, lost everything. I currently live with my mom and stepdad and my family believes I haven't used since I moved here out of jail. I've been using since march 2007.