Notices

New and Scared

Old 03-18-2012, 08:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New and Scared

Hey everyone. I am so glad that a site like this exists. The anonymity of posting from a computer is strangely liberating; I feel like I can say anything without fear of reprisal or judgment. I'm a nurse working in the health-care field and I admit it: I have a problem with binge drinking and I have to do something about it. I've always been known as the person who can "have a good time." And worse, I have spent years rationalizing the problem. I have seen so many people come through the hospital with drinking problems, but never wanted to admit that I may also have a problem. I guess because it isn't a chronic thing for me. The worst is parties and weekends. I can't seem to stop. I never realize when I've had enough. I guess this whole time I've been lying to myself saying that because I don't drink everyday that I don't have a problem. So I'm setting a sobriety date: March 17, 2012. I have spent all day today with the worst hangover ever, puking every 10-15 minutes and completely dehydrated. The hangovers seems to keep getting worse and worse. I never used to have that problem. But then I read online about a phenomenon called kindling. I guess this must be what is happening with me. I am so very scared of all the health related consequences of my drinking problem. I really feel that if I binge one more time, I could end up with a stroke or choking on my own vomit. My friends are even more concerned. I am sick of making a fool of myself. I don't deserve the friends that I have, they take care of me. I now need to start taking care of myself.

"Part of compliance is defiance, but you must arrive at acceptance of the disease."

One step at a time I guess.

I would really appreciate any advice y'all can give.
Old 03-18-2012, 08:33 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
~sb

Welcome to SR!

Lots to read, take your time!

Old 03-18-2012, 08:36 PM
  # 3 (permalink)