Notices

Recovery

Old 02-22-2012, 12:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Recovery

Ok, so I've given up booze for lent. The next forty days I am not worried about seeing as it's something I've committed to with a (non-alcoholic) friend and I have cut my drinking down so much that I'm hoping that withdrawals should be minimal. It does seem that most people suggest that some sort of recovery program is necessary though and seeing as I have been drinking every day for 12 years I think I won't be an exception.

Any suggestions where I should start? AA is a problem for for religious reasons (the lent thing is just a gimmick for us in this case) and I'd rather not attend meetings as my work is quite public in the area I live. I can read forever though so any good books on the subject would be good... I do feel like I should commit to something though, but can I do that without going to meetings?
Old 02-22-2012, 12:42 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Location:   « USA »                       Recovered with AVRT  (Rational Recovery)  ___________
Originally Posted by hypochondriac View Post
Any suggestions where I should start? AA is a problem for religious reasons and I'd rather not attend meetings as my work is quite public in the area I live. I can read forever though so any good books on the subject would be good...
Get the book "Rational Recovery: The New Cure for Substance Addiction" by Jack Trimpey. It describes an aggressive method of self-recovery that can be learned from reading alone - no meetings required.
Old 02-22-2012, 12:45 PM
  # 3 (permalink)