Notices

new here and anxious

Old 02-22-2012, 08:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new here and anxious

hi everyone
I am just beginning my recovery. I am a stay at home mom of 3 boys- and dont have many people to talk to. I am still in the process of convincing my husband I really have a problem,but he is in denial,as an extreme co-dependant. Lots of things led me to this point in life,mostly being ocd with depression and panic disorder most of my life.
The worst and hardest part of staying sober is the routine I have built around the drinking. Every night for many years- kids go to bed,I hit the bottle- i would sit outside in our covered porch sunshine,rain and below zero to have my cigarettes,martinis and or wine.
Now I am completely unsure of what to do to pass the time other than just go to bed at 7pm nightly. i spend my whole day at home (not much extra money to go places) and the drinking really breaks up the day,that one thing to look forward to. No hobbies seem interesting to me,especially in winter and after a 12 hour work day,my husband just wants to stare at the tv with the dog.
But Ive had enough of this liquor. its ruining my health and making my depression worse. I dont even like it,just the end result. hope to make so friends in my journey.
m
Old 02-22-2012, 08:29 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
~sb

Welcome to a supportive site!
Old 02-22-2012, 08:32 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

There are probably AA meetings in your town.
A great place to make friends and travel the road to recovery together.

(We ALL came to recovery "new and anxious")

Wishing you the best.

Bob R
Old 02-22-2012, 08:42 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
So it goes

As the comments say, try AA, if you cant , SR is good, there are chat rooms, the forums are great, and there are even the cafe bits. It all helps, the more building blocks you can place down for your recovery , the stronger it will be.
Old 02-22-2012, 11:20 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Welcome Medusa.