Notices

Nightmares

Old 01-29-2012, 05:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Nightmares

Hi all. Just joined up here today as I really need some advise and support. I have been drinking for about four years very heavily. I drink about three bottles of wine EVERY night and always pass out. I really want to stop drinking. I am very strong willed so I just stopped drinking about a month ago....but only for one night. I had the most horrid, crazy, scary nightmares. I woke up about three times in the night screaming. I was like I was awake but I couldn't move and things were coming to get me. I thought maybe it was just bad luck so I tried not drinking again last night and this time is was worse. And today I'm just so frightened. I can handle shaking, sweating and all the rest but NOT the nightmares. Can anyone offer some advise PLEASE?
Old 01-29-2012, 05:41 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

It sounds like you need to go see a doctor and get help with detoxing. I'm not a doctor, but it sounds like what you are doing, quitting cold turkey after very heavy drinking, is extremely dangerous, possibly deadly.

Please go see a doctor, tell him/her you need help quitting and be 100% honest about your alcohol consumption.
Old 01-29-2012, 05:47 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Katty
Welcome!

I didn't do anything but just..get through them...each night seemed a little easier to me, & after a week or so they faded and went away.

I always advise people to see a Dr too - I had a bad last detox...sometimes the nightmares, as horrific as they are, can really be the least of our worries.

D
Old 01-29-2012, 05:48 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Ok. That sounds good to me. I will be very honest. I'm not ashamed. It is what it is and I have to stop. I've coped so well for so long. I'm in a relationship, go to work EVERY day, and cope day to day splendidly. I just want to stop for the medical reasons. Thanks for your advise.
Old 01-29-2012, 05:49 PM
  # 5 (permalink)