Notices

Trying to quit smoking marijuana

Old 01-19-2012, 12:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trying to quit smoking marijuana

Hey everyone, I'm new here, I've been thinking of quitting for a while now and finally got the courage to set things in motion and make this work.

I've been smoking for almost 3 years now and at first it was ok for me, because I could control it. I would only smoke occasionally. But as the years progressed, so have my smoking habits. I went from smoking 1-2 times a week to smoking once a day, and recently began smoking multiple times a day. I need to stop this.

I'm beginning to close off the world around me, even to my closest friends. I have a lack of motivation as compared to before and I'm becoming socially closed off/socially awkward.

But I'm ready to change all of this and become the person I used to be! If anyone has any experience in this area or even any advice on how you started this process, I'd love to hear it, thank you and good luck to all!
Old 01-19-2012, 01:19 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Resident

to SR Sunday Snow
I quit that stuff about 9 years ago. Just had enough of it and quit one day. No regrets.
I should have quit drinking at the same time but I didn't so here I am now.
Hope you can get away from it. Isolation is not a good place to be in.
Old 01-19-2012, 01:38 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
SR Fan

Welcome SundaySnow!

It sounds like you've experienced what the rest of us have...... things start off being "fun" and progress until we find ourselves consumed by it. I found that I couldn't stop drinking on my own and finally reached out for support, like you're doing today. Good move!

It does take time for our brains/bodies to readjust. I think the mental/emotional part was the hardest for me, but it does get easier as time goes on. I love my sober life today.

Keep reading/posting!
Old 01-19-2012, 02:27 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
~sb

You can stay stopped! I quit smoking weed & 4 days later I quit drinking. Stay strong!