Notices

husband to first AA mtg--how do I help?

Old 01-18-2012, 10:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

husband to first AA mtg--how do I help?

I am brand new to this. My husband is an alcoholic who finally went to his first AA meeting last night. I really want/need him to stay sober for him, for us, for our kids, but I'm not sure how to help him be successful. I don't know if he plans to go to another meeting today or not. And, I'm worried that the intensity of his physical symptoms over the next few days might drive him back to drink. A friend recommended that he see a doctor, but how do I convince him of this? In general, I'm just not sure how to talk to him. I don't want to pester him too much, but I'm also afraid to say nothing. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks. SS
Old 01-18-2012, 10:49 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Although I cannot offer any advice, I can express my admiration for the support you want to offer your husband. He's lucky to be married to someone who understand the "in sickness or health" aspect of your vow.

Good luck.
Old 01-18-2012, 10:54 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
~sb

I would try Al Anon. Allow him to focus on him for now, you focus on you. It will all come together in time. I know first hand as a daughter & wife of an alcoholic (and eventually as an alcoholic) that alcoholism affects the whole family.
Give time time.
Hugs & Love,
Old 01-18-2012, 12:27 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
LIVING SOBER

My wife and I are both in recovery as alcoholics.
Therefore, we both live with a recovering alcoholic.
We cannot control one another’s path in recovery. (As you and your husband, probably would not have much success in doing)

However, we can share from our life’s experiences what has worked for us. (This is helpful to both of us as alcoholics, and as the partner of a recovering alcoholic.)