Notices

Just a question..

Old 01-02-2012, 07:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Just a question..

And its probably a silly one, because I doubt there is a right answer that fits for everyone.. but maybe an estimate? When does it get easier and better? Its night three and Im so bored, anxious, jittery. When will I learn how to entertain myself without alcohol? When will I not being thinking about a drink every five minutes and just once a day instead? I've been drinking approximately four times a week for four years.. i guess a better question would be.. at what point did it start to get easier for you? Was it 50 % better after a month?

Any thought and personal experiences and timelines would be great!
Thanks.
Old 01-02-2012, 07:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Thats a real 'how long is a piece of string question' mandosca

I drank for 20 years and daily for five - I remember I feel pretty cruddy the whole of the first week, but I felt better from there.

As far as easier goes, that took a little longer for me - but it happened - I began to move from focusing on not drinking to focusing on building a new sober life by about 60-90 days...other peoples mileage may vary, of course!

don't lose faith...you're not alone and you're headed in the right direction - keep going!

D
Old 01-02-2012, 09:01 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Location:   « USA »                       Recovered with AVRT  (Rational Recovery)  ___________
Speaking only for myself here, but the first month was horrible, had multiple cravings throughout the day that felt literally like electric shocks in my brain. I would wake up thinking about drinking first thing in the morning, and wouldn't be able to sleep at all at night. The sleep cycle began to improve after a month or so, but it took about four and a half months to get to the point where I didn't have to worry about those frigging thoughts of whiskey popping up so much.