Notices

Read "Lit" and "drinking-A Love Story"

Old 12-10-2011, 05:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Post Read "Lit" and "drinking-A Love Story"

Both great reads. I liked the Second one better because I could relate to her relationship issues and with other addictions. Now I'm trying to figure out my next read will be.

I tend to get a little frustrated with books like "Lit" though as I think the writer was a little self endulgent with her quotes and need to slide her knowledge of writing and literature throughout the book. that's just me though, I think "Drinking, A Love Story" felt more real. I'm no book guru obviously! Lol

So what shoul I read next? I'm still very new to my nondrinking life so these books are keeping me sane.
Old 12-10-2011, 06:11 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Here's a few I've read,
Dry: A Memoir by Augusten Burroughs
Drinking, A Love Story by Caroline Knapp
Wishful Drinking by Carrie Fisher
and Life by Keith Richards (I wasn't a Keith fan until I read the book).
Old 12-10-2011, 06:18 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi 1Undone. I read both books and I agree with you that Knapp's was a better read than Karr's. I felt frustrated by Karr's language/style and I related a lot more to Knapp. That being said, I understand that Karr's title "Lit" was a double entendre meant to express how literature played a role in her life as well as drinking/being drunk/"lit." I love to read so I appreciated that literature played a big role in the book, but, I agree that at time it didn't flow/felt too erudite, and at others points I was like, huh?, what is she even trying to say?