Notices

Need help confronting parents

Old 11-28-2011, 02:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need help confronting parents

I'm new to this site and need some adivce/help..

Little back ground info.

I've been smoking weed for 5 years. Did it all through highschool and now into college... I've had a lot of fun with it, but I always end up being depresed the next day, then I find myself smoking again to get away from the depression. Well, the weed has finally taken its toll. I've basically failed my first semester of college and driven all my friends away. I want to start a new life and start over, but I can't get past the obstacle of telling my parents all of this...

My depression started back in feb when my dad tried to committ suicide. He claimed he had battled depression since he was a kid. That for one just took me to my lowest of lows.. Ever since then i've been depressed and the only thing that took me away from it was by smoking.. I wan't to stop all of that. I took matters into my own hands yesterday but destroying everything that had to do with smoking. ie. bowls, papers, stash jars, everything..

I can't find the courage to tell my parents everything because i'm scared they will be angry and just dissappointed in me.. Can someone please help me out on how to confront them and tell them all of this? Its not as easy as it looks, and its been killing me on the inside for months on end.

Thank you.
Old 11-28-2011, 03:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hmm... Hard to say. I guess coming clean with all of this will be necessary when they see your grades. Just tell them what you told us... In addition...

Does your college have drug and alcohol counselling and support? If so, do it now. That will show everyone you are serious. More importantly, it will get you started in recovery. There are other programs ... NA and other 12 step programs...

Good luck. I am sure if you are HONEST with everything you will get a second chance. Don't blow it...

Welcome to SR!!