Notices

Will you teach me more about the Alcoholic Voice?

Old 11-21-2011, 07:45 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Will you teach me more about the Alcoholic Voice?

I was doing great for a while, but once again gave in to the notion that I can have my evening wine. So I can’t count days right now, but I am happy to report that this community has kept me from listening to that voice at least for tonight.

Recently I found myself waking up each morning feeling just fine, but thinking, “That was stupid. I will make sure not to drink tonight.” Then evening would come and my resolution was completely the opposite. It’s has been so strange. So tonight I was battling the mind set by coming here, and I found several posts that actually identified this as the Alcoholic Voice. Well of course it makes much sense, but I have never heard it called that. Just wondering what you all can tell me about it.

Thanks -
Old 11-21-2011, 07:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Chloe: I'm not an expert on this but there's lots of stuff on this website relating to what some folks call the "Beast". Do a search for AVRT and also Rational Recovery. My take on this is that AVRT does not preclude other approaches, such as AA but it offers a wealth of insight into what actually takes place in addiction and what to do about it. No doubt others will want to tell you a little more about it.

W.
Old 11-21-2011, 08:00 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

There's a few AV based threads in our Secular Connections forum Chloe
Secular Connections - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

D
Old 11-21-2011, 08:19 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I know that voice well!
Old 11-21-2011, 08:21 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

OOOHH. Thank you both, but I could not face any challange in my life (especially this one) in a secular way without God. Thanks for the info.
Old 11-21-2011, 08:32 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Administrator

I'm not an expert but I don't think it's a method necessarily incompatible with God Chloe

D