Notices

Cloudy in the head and lacking meanin to life

Old 11-21-2011, 01:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Cloudy in the head and lacking meanin to life

Greetings. I am new to this. I am a 33 y.o. man who started drinking heavy at around 26. By heavy I mean drinking vodka or gin straight every night until unconsiousness and many weekends being around the clock binges. Anyway, I am a couple of months into this sober living thing but have some questions/strange feelings. First off, I am a computer engineer and while I can still mentally function a technical job, I find semi-often that I can get cloudy in my thoughts. I might not be able to find the word that I was wanting to use or may be as precise in my wording as I once was. Maybe it's that I am aging or maybe it is alcohol damage. Anyone with any insight?

My more recent problem is that I almost feel like my inner fire is being extinguished. Where I once was very passionate about certain things in life like politics, technology, relationships with others, high morals and ethics, I find that I still hold my values but feel more "Blah" in my attitude.

Does anyone else have any experience with this?
Old 11-21-2011, 01:10 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I know exactly what you're talking about. I have felt/still feel the same way. The longer I abstain from drinking the clearer my thoughts get though. My generally blah attitude however, does not change.

I'm being treated for depression by my doctor now, so that combined with sobriety will hopefully help.
Old 11-21-2011, 01:15 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Post-Acute Withdrawal Symptoms - Relapse Prevention Strategies

Sounds like PAWS to me. It's the body and brain getting readjusted to functioning without alcohol. I noticed it after my last quit date, but it seemed to fade away over time and by a year sober I didn't notice it much anymore.
Old 11-21-2011, 01:29 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by least View Post