Notices

A 'boring dick' while sober

Old 11-12-2011, 04:52 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
In Recovery

A 'boring dick' while sober

There I said it! I've been fighting this for 14 months now, I have my stretches of sobriety, feeling great, eating well. Then the crash. But I am struggling to find the reason why sobriety is the best option. I know it is the right one. But lately it feels like I wake up drunk, start drinking and I feel sober. I have very deep conversations with people at night, they would never know I had been drinking, it just seems to shift my perception.

I don't do any other drugs and have no desire to. The last sober stretch was 3 weeks and I was told by my SO that I am boring, and kind of a dick when I'm not drinking. When I drink, she likes to smoke pot and we stay up for hours talking about some of the craziest stuff. We never fight, it is always a positive conversation and feels like it is the highlight of my existence, especially since I gave up all my friends cause all they want to do is drink.

I am doing much better at least, used to be 24-30 beers a day and whiskey. Gave up hard alcohol and at my worst it will be 12-18 beers.

So my post here is to shine light, as there is always hope, I have all the tools I need. So my question is simply, has it been too long with alcohol that I just function as a boring person without it? I assume many of you can relate. Thanks for reading!
Old 11-12-2011, 05:06 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

this is your first post psilyguy

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...ml#post3030279

there are some pretty cogent reasons there for you to stay sober.

We all have the imagination and the opportunities not to be boring...if you feel boring without alcohol, maybe you need to look at your life and look at ways you could bring more fulfillment to it?

Maybe you need to think about not indulging in your wife's lifestyle either.