Notices

Feeling awkward after sharing

Old 11-02-2011, 04:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
ola

Question Feeling awkward after sharing

I'm very new to Al Anon. I think it's probably the right place for me. But that might be wishful thinking.

Tonight I think I may have overshared and I'm embarrassed by it. I don't think I spoke too long, but maybe my speaking wasn't organised very well and my tone was a little fraught. Also I may have given a detail I shouldn't (nothing lurid but just personal). I did stop myself and tried to make a joke about having overshared. But the initial warmth people showed was seemed absent afterward.

I'm gay and I mentioned the gender of my partner (who brought the alcoholism into the picture as a troubled adult child of an alcoholic) and that seemed to put a chill in the air.

I might be imagining all this because I'm in a raw state right now. And I do tend to blame myself for other people's reactions (which might have nothing to do with me) - which I'm starting to feel is not uncommon.

How can I tell if I've overshared? What kinds of things would be considered oversharing? Also some people talked about not wanting to "dump" when they were sharing. After the meeting I asked someone what that means but she didn't really explain it clearly and I found her accent hard to understand. But I think I did mishandle my time because a nice older woman who was making tea said "don't be too hard on yourself. Sometimes it's ok to just listen." I get a lot out of listening to other people's stories at the meeting but I now I feel embarrassed and want to avoid talking. Probably a good thing I should get a feel for how things are run before shooting my mouth off.

Oversharing - how would you define it? And should I apologise for it or just make a commitment to not do it next time?
Old 11-02-2011, 04:45 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hey, i agree with the lady, dont be so hard on yourself!
It is ok not to do things perfectly. You didnt know, and it is no big deal!