Notices

Second day of no alcohol.....

Old 10-23-2011, 07:47 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Second day of no alcohol.....

I'm new here and to anyother sites such as this, But i am a alcoholic. I have been drinking daily for about 12 years now. It has taken a toll on me and my family and i am going to try and put the breaks on it controling my life. I am tired of seeing how people look at me and how i look at myself. My kids have seen me stuble and fall and my wife has cought me sneaking to take a drink, This is not who i truley am. I cant remeber what sober is and i know its going to be hard but i am truily going to give it my all and hope i am strong anough to quit on my own with my wifes help.
Old 10-23-2011, 07:51 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome! I'm on day 3 of my 2nd attempt at sobriety. Good luck and come here often. The people here are full of knowledge.
Old 10-23-2011, 07:52 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Self recovered Self discovered

You are strong enough to do this, people have been laying off the booze for millennia. You won't succeed if you don't think you can. Of course you can, there is nothing special at all about your alcohol use. Just believe that you can, and ditch the booze for a week. With a few days sober, your perception of yourself will begin to change, along with your self esteem.

Make a commitment, make a plan for your future use of alcohol (a very basic plan will do: yes, or no more), and do this thing.
Old 10-23-2011, 08:02 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Congrats on your decision to stop, it is the best gift you can give yourself and those who love you. Please use this site as there are alot of wise people here who want to help you.
Old 10-23-2011, 08:20 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Welcome Phillip and this is a great site for support. You can do this and there is help as taking this on all alone is usually too much for most people.