Notices

My Detox Experience

Old 10-03-2011, 01:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My Detox Experience

I am new to recovery and was rather nervous about getting started in the process. I heard all sorts of horror stories about different detox and rehab facilities and was expecting the worst.

I was prescribed xanax to help me sleep at night and to help with anxiety, but soon began abusing the pills. I knew it wasn't right what I was doing and just kept saying to myself "someday I'll stop." Well 'someday' turned into 4 and a half years of 'someday's'.

So I finally mustered up the guts to check in and IT WAS THE BEST DECISION I EVER MADE IN MY LIFE. (Besides having children of course!)

I was recommended to a place called Summer House Detox in Miami Florida by a family friend who is a very respected psychiatrist.

From the moment I picked up the phone, a gentleman named Mike was very informative and told me that even if I didn't come to Summer House detox that he would be happy to point me in the right direction towards getting my life back. He even gave me his cell phone number. I gave him my information and he set everything up for me.

Another Summer house detox employee named Chad picked me up from the airport and instantly, I felt like I had a friend. I entered the facility and it was nothing like I had expected. I was picturing a hospital-like setting, but this was far from it. It looks like a comfortable home inside.

I can't say enough about my experience; Rootie, the administrator printed me articles and natural treatments for my disease that I never knew existed. Also, I ate better than I have in the past 5 years of my life. The food was incredible! I'm also a registered nurse and it was a breath of fresh air to witness the nursing staff team. Talk about empathetic and always available.