Notices

Back after 6 months

Old 10-02-2011, 09:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Back after 6 months

Last year near the end of October, I decided that I needed to give up the alcohol. I was counting my sober days for a little over 6 months. Things were going well, and I sort of forgot why I had quit drinking. When spring came around and the weather became nicer, I started thinking that maybe it was okay to have a drink here and there while relaxing outside or hanging out with friends. I guess I've conditioned myself over the years to believe that relaxing = having a drink in hand. Anyway, I've been drinking for the past 6 months. Not continuously or in huge amounts, but recently I've been drinking on quite a few weeknights instead of just weekends. It's been occupying my thoughts more, too. Sometimes while I'm at work and sometimes even in the morning before I've left for work, I'll think about how I can't wait to get home to have a drink. I feel like its control over me is starting to creep in. I'm struggling between "It's not that bad, you haven't been sick or done anything embarrassing lately" and "cut it out before it takes over!" I don't exactly want to quit drinking, but I know it's what I have to do. I definitely don't want it to get worse. So, I guess today is another day 1.
Old 10-02-2011, 10:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

welcome back littlesparrow

I found those first few thoughts so insidious - it was usually not until months later I realised how deep I was in it again...

D
Old 10-02-2011, 10:23 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks littlesparrow,

for posting. I can see how easy it would be to slip into the scenario as the one you described so well. I am only 4 months sober and can see how easy it is to start drinking again.
Did you have a program in place?

CaiHong
Old 10-02-2011, 11:08 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Welcome back...
Old 10-03-2011, 06:26 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome back!