Notices

How do I get out of this cycle?

Old 09-24-2011, 07:58 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy How do I get out of this cycle?

I am on day one of my recovery...again. I have read several threads and have many of the symptoms of alcoholism that some of you folks have mentioned on here. Some of these include, but are not limited to, blackouts, hangovers, fatigue, memory loss, restless sleep, nightmares (when I dream), etc...

I drink sometimes up to 4 days a week. The number of drinks is never less than 6 and most of the time I get to the point where I have so many I lose count. I have three amazing girls who deserve better. I keep it together as well as I can. I make it to work everyday, make lunches, give baths, prep clothes, get everybody off and ready for school each day. Most days, this all gets pulled off while I'm either drunk or hungover.

I have been drinking my whole life, since I was about 14 (25 yrs.). I don't remember it not being a part of my life. It was in my house as long as I can remember as both of my parent were drinkers. Lately, I have noticed a vast progression in my drinking patterns. My husband took a job over the road so I am alone with everything (and plenty of opportunities to drink). Needless to say, stress is at a fever pitch so I am never shy of plenty of "really good reasons" to drink. I am my own worst enemy...

So enough about me. Here are my questions for anyone who has some solid advise. What if I don't like who I am without the beer? What do I do with the time I could potentially gain? Idle hands are the devils play-place and all.
What do I do if I have awful DT's and have no other adult around for the kids? I have so many concerns and a very small support system. Any help out there?

Thanks
Old 09-24-2011, 08:09 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome Pinkflamingirl

Originally Posted by Pinkflamingirl View Post