Notices

My uncomfortable AA meeting

Old 09-06-2011, 05:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Grateful AA member

My uncomfortable AA meeting

Decided last night to give AA another shot but I felt uncomfortable. It was a woman's meeting and everyone was nice but I wouldnt call myself an alcoholic during the meeting. Why? I dont deny having a drinking problem but I don't like to label myself and I don't think that anyone else unless they have some kind of medical or therapy degree has the right to label me either. Even my therapist do not label me with types of disorders they dont believe in it. Anyway, after the meeting two women came up to me and told me I was an alcoholic and they were once in denial too. I smiled and told them thanks for the input. Wasnt getting into it with anyone.

I also didnt like that in one tradition I dont remember which one I am pretty new to the program that they were comparing cancer to alcoholism it made me pretty mad. I kept my mouth shut bc I like to defend my own opinions but didnt think it was the place. I don't believe people choose to get cancer but I choose to pick up that first drink and thats my fault people with cancer dont choose to get cancer. Yes, I know that no body chooses to become an alcoholic either.

They spoke a lot about God, after the meeting I did question the higher power. They did say God can be anything and its not that I don't believe in God but I know just praying to God or believing in something Higher than myself will stop me from drinking. It brings up "being powerless over alcohol" I know many will disagree with me and I am only speaking for myself but I dont feel that I am powerless over it. I choose to go to the store and buy beer, I choose to binge on it. If I am drinking to numb my depression, or have a fight with someone, etc I choose to pick up a drink and its no ones fault other then my own.