Notices

On the brink

Old 09-04-2011, 11:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Red face On the brink

Hello. First post. Found you through Google.

I'm on the brink. I'm not addicted to any specific drug, but I find I am unwilling to be completely sober at any given time. I sometimes accomplish this somewhat innocently -- maybe a joint or 2 or 3 beers (I'm not a big drinker). Often and, more often lately, I've been buying stronger pain medication like oxy 80's (I eat them, usually a 1/4 at a time) or fentanyl patch (my favorite). I'll make a patch last 5 days by just putting a piece in my mouth and sucking on it. It gets you pretty mashed. I would certainly say opiates are my favorite.

I'll go a week without, but when I have nothing else I'll default to tylenol 1's -- the kind with some codeine in them. I'll eat 4 in the morning, and maybe 4 after lunch. Doesn't really do much anymore, though.

Keep in mind, I'm a young professional earning a significantly higher wage than average, so money isn't why I haven't developed a *serious* problem. The main reason for this ... and it's one I'm very aware of ... is I have no connections! I'm like a drug outcast! I know 2 people who live an hour away (in my hometown) who supply me from time to time. That requires the drive and will somewhat curb my desire.

My lack of connections not withstanding -- there still is a problem here. When I'm not on pain killers, I'm thinking about pain killers. I'm always waiting for the weekend and hoping a friend can find me some patch. This is such a costly waste of time and it's ruining who I am. I can feel that. I can't work properly unless I'm mashed. I have no motivation unless I'm mashed. I'm not sweet to my (unknowing) girlfriend unless I'm smashed. I feel drained, bored and depressed unless I get myself high.