Notices

sober and meeting opposite sex

Old 08-05-2011, 09:23 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

sober and meeting opposite sex

Hi all,

So I'm still new to recovery (5 months in) and just curious on how people in recovery meet others of the opposite sex and date? Since I'm new to recovery I have been avoiding bars at all costs, which has left me inside home a lot on nights where I'd use to go out to the bars and meet men. In the past the bars were the only place I'd meet men and in society it is one of the more typical places people go to meet others. I'm not dying for a relationship as I'm trying to work on myself, but at the same time, I do miss dating and don't want to be single forever. I'm a little worried that the price of soberity means being single...esp since so far its been a lot of isolation b/c everyone I know drinks. Also, a lot of dating involves drinking so how does one cope with that? Any advice would be great?
Old 08-05-2011, 09:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

It's tough, but you can do it! What do you like to do? read? go to a library or a bookstore and spend a couple hours just seeing who strolls along! like to cook? Take a cooking class for singles or adults. How far along have you pursued education? Is there any way you could find a class at a university (or Community college) that would spark an interest in you or perhaps somebody else? How about joining a club? do you like to run or rock climb? Have you ever checked out websites for singles? I haven't but know many who've had success with them. Even meetup.com, which is centered on finding people with matching interests instead of romance might be something to explore. There are often art shows, Shakespeare festivals, movie nights in the park, road trips and music festivals where you might just run into somebody with whom sparks fly. Don't be shy!!! I hope this post helps.

PN
Old 08-06-2011, 01:43 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by LittleChris View Post