Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

need advice. i'm new to sobriety and dealing with a junkie friend.

Notices

Old 08-05-2011, 07:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Ok, so I'm on day 9 of sobriety. I have been going to meetings, starting my step work and talking with my sponsor. I feel good about being sober, but am really stressed out.

One of my friends has a serious problem with heroin. Like, has shot up 10 times a day. He kicked it for 4 days and then today was in a bad mood over something and basically threatened to overdose. I'm one of the only friends he has left...hmm, wonder why...and I feel so helpless. He's been through AA and worked the 12 steps, sponsored people in the past. It's not like he doesn't know what is right and wrong...it's just. I don't know. I've never personally done drugs like that before, so I can't imagine I guess what he's going through. But he's all like, you're doing step 12 by helping me? I fear for him and hate knowing that I'm one of the only people who can "help" him.

Any opinions or feedback at all would be GREATLY appreciated. I'm kinda freaking out.
Old 08-05-2011, 07:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi lbern

I have to say I had my hands full dealing with me when I got sober, let alone anyone else.

I know he's your friend and you care about him, but if he knows about the steps he'll know that Step 12 is step 12 for a reason - it's at the end, after you've done all the other steps, and are ready to help others.

Don't get lost in you friends troubles...I've been in relationships where the two of us floundered because I wasn't yet in a position to help...we ended up just sharing addictions.

It's not selfish to put your recovery first. Your responsibility is to yourself.

Your friend obviously knows where to get help, if he wants it.

D
Old 08-05-2011, 07:42 PM
  # 3 (permalink)