Notices

I think I need some help...

Old 08-03-2011, 10:42 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I think I need some help...

Hi, I'm new on here and I wanted to reach out. I just celebrated 1 year on July 14, what an accomplishment. Honestly I thought things would be a lot better at this point but it could be worse. I'm a mid twenties stay-at-home Dad with two children. I've been doing this for 3 or 4 months and I basically put my self in this role in a passive, subconscious kind of way. I never had any career while I was drinking, and no schooling either. So, I've always had odd jobs and was never able to hold them to long. So once I got sober and went off to treatment, my wife was like a month pregnant. I thought having a second child would "help me stay sober" which its a great reinforcer... but I now realize it wouldn't have been necessary for me to stay sober like I originally thought. I had a few jobs in my early months of sobriety, then the baby was born and I quit to stay home with the kids. My pay wasn't enough anyway to cover childcare so I would have had to quit anyway. In the back of my mind though, I wanted to stay at home and not have to work. Boy have I changed my tune now. I never realized how straining on me mentally, and emotionally this would be! I have all day to be up in my head, and I call my network often but a phone call only holds me over for 20 minutes or so and its back to the head games. I pray, I read, I play video games, and I surf the web. Some days are worse than others, but lately I've been absolutely sick of what I'm doing. I haven't been thinking about drinking or anything like that but I do wish for an escape of sorts... Everyone keeps telling me, including my Father and sponsor: "YOUR RIGHT WHERE YOU NEED TO BE!" AHHH! I hate hearing that, but its probably true. I'm learning to be patient and tolerant through my children, as well with my self. By the time my wife gets home from work I'm usually off to the gym for an hour. When I'm back, shes