Notices

Here we go again.

Old 08-02-2011, 05:19 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Here we go again.

I went to rehab almost 2 years ago, and figured that I knew more than they did. The day I left, I bought a fifth of gin to celebrate my release. I only spent 12 days there, because, in my mind, if I was sober for 12 days, I had it licked. Funny how things don't work out as we plan. Well, fast forward 2 years, and I am in the same old place, faced with some hard decisions. I've already talked with the VA and am scheduled to go back into rehab on Aug 22. I am committed to do the full program this time. The problem is that they prescribed me Naltrexone and it doesn't appear to be doing any good. I don't want to go through detox, since I've never done it before, but, I'd like to know from anyone if Naltrexone has worked for you?

Thanks.
Old 08-02-2011, 05:24 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Haven't used it. I have been though in-patient, out-patient, 5 or 6 detoxs--supervised and not (bad). For some reason sobriety just couldn't get it right. It must be defective. Thank you for the post.
Old 08-02-2011, 05:42 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

I've never used it either.

I hope that your rehab goes well.
Old 08-02-2011, 05:48 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome back Bob
No experience with naltrexone here either, sorry.

good luck, man
D
Old 08-02-2011, 05:55 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Hi and welcome Bob!

I went to rehab 3 years ago, I am an alcoholic. I tried naltrexone, the pills and the injections (1 months worth of gel in your bum cheek). The injections hurt like heck!