Notices

im new to this...

Old 07-25-2011, 03:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

im new to this...

So im pretty new to stone cold sobriety... I don't know if I would call myself an alcoholic or just and addict in general... for quite some time I used multiple substances but I have been off aderall/ stacker pills for 3 years now ... I also quit using marijuana at the beginning of this year and I started my sobriety from alcohol and cigarettes 17 days ago... in the other cases quitting was easier for me... but the last 17 days have been a rollercoaster... one minute im proud and happy to be sober and the next im anxiety ridden mess... the weird thing is I don't feel the need to drink... I just feel overwhelming anxiety... which anxiety never really occurred for me prior to drinking or even during... I was wondering does it go away?? And how long does it take?? Also did anyone else experience a loss of friends?? I haven't heard from someone who I considered to be my best friend much since I've decided to live a sober lifestyle... we used to talk everyday and now it seems like im not good enough to be friends with now that I've chosen to be sober... actually she isn't the only friend I feel I've lost... im pretty much feel like im left with one friend(ironically the one who doesn't drink)... I guess this is just turning out to be a lot harder then I had expected it to be... I always thought I can quit and feel normal whenever I want... that's proving to be a battle... I have the hardest times on weekends... what once was going to a club and downing a bottle of liquor is now sitting at home... I don't know what kind of healthy activities I can do to entertain myself...
Old 07-25-2011, 03:49 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Grateful AA member