Notices

how do I conquer this?

Old 07-21-2011, 08:41 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

how do I conquer this?

I am a 27 year old male who has struggled with alcohol since I was 21 (I drank when I was younger but never in the amount, nor for the reasons I do now). Both my parents abused alcohol and I watched it destroy their relationship and negatively impact their lives - now I realize that I am slowly destroying my life.

The first time I turned to alcohol to alter my mood was after my roommate had moved out - I was 21 and felt desperately alone. I went to the liquor store and bought a bottle of vodka -before the night was through I had finished the whole thing. I did this again and again for about a week. Since then my abuse of alcohol has been cyclical; sometimes I can go a week without it and no problem, sometimes (and now more often) I drink every night (and some days) of the week.

I have pretended I don't have a problem because during the past six years I graduated from college, I bought a house, and I have finished two years of Law school (I am about to start my final year). I believed that because I was "successful" that I was not an alcoholic - I realized this morning, when I wanted to drink at 9 that I surely am.

I hate alcohol. I hate the way it makes me feel the next day, I hate how it interferes with my sleep, I hate how much money I spend on it, I hate how it affects my health - yet it beckons me. Because when I am drinking I feel like it's ok - I am not a mean or sad drunk - I become happy and loving (I think that is the reason I desire it so much).