Notices

Another Newbie Here - Looking for a bit of Support & Advice

Old 07-18-2011, 02:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Another Newbie Here - Looking for a bit of Support & Advice

Hello Everyone,

I'm Bayliss...25 years old...realized I was an alcoholic not too long ago. I never drank when I was a teenager or began my 20s but the past three years I have been drinking frequently and the past year I have been drinking quite heavily...everyday, sometimes in the mornings, usually all day on weekends.
I have tried several times to quit...I would go weekdays with no drink and weekends with...and that worked a bit...and then I just started drinking again everyday...I usually drank to the point of blacking out.
The other day I was admitted to hospital for severe chest pain which ended up being severe acid reflux from binge drinking...the blood work was riddled with alcohol {the doctor kept asking me if I had a problem}.
The next day my boyfriend didn't really speak to me. He then later on told me that if I don't get my stuff together that he was going to leave me...he didn't want to deal with it anymore. The amount of money I wasted, the lies I told him countless times, the fool I made out of myself on certain days...the person that I became, well, I became unrecognizable to him. All I did was work, get to the house, cook if I felt like it, and then drank until I passed out.
Well...I guess I was a bit upset that he gave me an ultimatum...I mean, I want to quit but I don't...well...I really do. I don't want it to run my life anymore. I don't enjoy anything and I am just absolutely miserable half the time...for something like this to completely consume my day to day life. I usually would think that weekends flew by and the work week started way too soon, it turns out I was just too drunk to remember half of it, or I was asleep for most of it.
I know that I need to get my life in order...and I guess in a way it's a good thing that he gave me this ultimatum...