Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

Why so much judgement? I know AA works but it sometimes can get boring

Notices

Old 06-27-2011, 05:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I am new to the program I have been around for 6 months. At first I was all into it and went to 60 meeting in 60 days but then I stopped feeling the excitement. Whenever I said anything about this in the meeting I would get the same "if youre bored its cause youre boring", it gets old after a while. I am here cause I want to be here, I have not hit a bad bottom, but I know that drinking doesn't go with me anymore. I want to build a family and better myself and drinkinig like a college dude on the weekends at 39 is not cutting it. I like AA, I like the book, I like the steps, I love the message, I have never felt so in synch with my higher power. But sometimes people in AA can be a bit much. I have very close friends and family who are not in recovery who I talk to on a daily basis and I feel this is where I get my strength to keep going. I can't understand when people say, "what a bad day! I need a meeting" I don't get that, when I have a bad day I try and figure out why, then talk to people I trust. I keep going to meeting because I do get things here and there that help in my recovery but I can't say I'm jumping hoops on my way to any meeting.
Old 06-27-2011, 05:05 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Tony
Welcome to SR

I'm not in AA, but I guess if I was and I found the meetings boring and the people a bit much I'd probably try some different groups and meetings, just to see whether it was the people I was reacting to or the programme

D
Old 06-27-2011, 05:09 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Yeah, I agree with Dee. I'm not an AA person either, but maybe looking around at other meetings could help you decide.

Congratulations on your sober time!
Old 06-27-2011, 05:13 PM