Notices

Quit drinking become a hermit?

Old 06-21-2011, 04:32 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Quit drinking become a hermit?

I used to deal with all the stress and "everything' else in my life with drinking. Feel bad, drink, Feel good, drink. Bored, drink. Drink, drink, drink,....

Now that I stopped the madness. I find my defences to life craziness and the people in it are weak.

The only thing I can change is me. The only thing I can control is me.

I feel pretty good working my program and looking deep within myself. The problem is the world is out there. Not all in here. I'm going to retreat a bit from the craziness or a least limit it as much as I can. Problem is in one respect I can't. I'm a technical consultant. The demands on me to be "on" and available are high.

What to do. Fin an oasis....?
Old 06-21-2011, 04:34 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Life the gift of recovery!

Please do not take this as sarcasm or an insult. But have you considered seeking mental health help. It sounds like you could use some help with dealing with life stressors and that is one way to find some help.
Old 06-21-2011, 04:58 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

hi in my own expirence and working with my sponser i lerned that acceptance is a big problem of mine and expectations of people places and things and once i started to pray on these matters i started to losen up and relize that every thing and person is who they should be in that place and time and you are right the only person we can change is mysefl i use to read read page 449 in the big book alot just about every day anyway that my expierance hope it helps sorry for any incorrect spelling
Old 06-21-2011, 05:18 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

My drinking was at least on one level an attempt to eradicate stress.
I've realised in my sobriety it's not possible to do that - or desirable.

I find somethings very helpful with stress - exercise is good, diet helps, deep breathing does too - I've had to work hard to find healthy ways to relax.