Notices

My first post

Old 06-01-2011, 07:37 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My first post

6 days sober today. Seems like such a small feat, but I am proud! I am new to SR and excited to start a new alcohol free life! I am a Mom of 2 young boys and wife to a wonderful husband. My booze of choice is beer and on days where I want a quicker buzz I will throw some red wine in the mix. I don't drink daily, usually 2 or 3 nights a week. The problem is that when I drink, I get hammered. I get black-out drunk and sometimes there will only be flashes of the night that I can remember the next day. Sometimes I can't remember anything after a certain point. The next day, after a horrible night of sleep, feeling depressed and remorseful for letting my 3 year old watch cartoons while I drink and having my 3 month old swing in his swing most of the night (I need to note that they are both taken care of fine by my hubby during these times), I always make promises to myself that I won't drink again for X amount of days. Sometimes I will say 10 days, sometimes a week, sometimes not until a certain event, etc. I NEVER stick to it. I will make it 3, sometimes 5 days and give in. The CRAVE hits me and I feel my skin itch and my brain go crazy. At this point all I can think about is that first beer! So I end up giving in to the booze and starting the dreaded cycle over. I often wonder why can't I just go a whole week without? I feel like a prisoner trapped inside my own head. Why would I let alcohol control me?

When I was pregnant I never drank (not even a consideration), but I also never missed it or even thought about it. Didn't bother me seeing others drink, etc. I think this is because I knew I couldn't so the little addict inside me stopped talking.