Notices

Do drug users avoid relationships with non-users?

Old 05-24-2011, 08:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Do drug users avoid relationships with non-users?

I am new to this drug addiction struggle. I have become involved with someone who smokes weed daily (this I don't have any problems with) but the last time I saw him, he clearly had just finished a few lines of cocaine. Just before this last date, he started to become very distant. I also just found out that he had a history of cocaine useage years back but had stopped using. I have not said anything to him about it, but he knows that I noticed. We had only been dating 2-3 months but we got along great, he truly seemed to like me a lot. I am not a user but I also made it clear that I was not his mother. Does it make sense that he would want to end contact with me after this? Do frequent users generally not want to be around non-users? Would starting up cocaine use again cause someone to slowly stop communication? If he just lost interest in me, fine, but he is a great guy and it is hard not to worry a little about his future, for many reasons.
Old 05-24-2011, 08:14 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Cocaine makes you retreat into your own little world of using and using more. If he started using again, he's probably more concerned with the cocaine than he is with you. Personally, knowing what I know now, I would find a better companion. If you aren't a user I can't imagine why you'd want the heartache and headache of worrying about this person. I think you should move on...
Old 05-24-2011, 08:29 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR!!

I'm an RA (recovering addict - crack) and a recovering codie (codependent who has/had loved ones who are/were addicts). I've been on both sides of the fence.

When someone is using, they want to be around people who don't have a problem with them using, someone who will let them do whatever they want and not say a word.