Notices

Newbie - - - What do I do now?

Old 05-13-2011, 02:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie - - - What do I do now?

Hi - I'm a newbie...just trying to understand myself, as well as the toxin that plagues me. I went without alcohol for a week, but soon resumed my old habits....I mean, if I'm able to abstain for a week, doesn't that mean that I don't have a problem?? The thing is....I know better, I'm reading Beyond the Influence, so my wiser mind tells me that I should abstain from drinking....but my addictive mind tells me that I can somehow warp back to the time when I drank "moderately". Soo...without making this post too long, my therapist wants to admit me to intense outpatient therapy...of course, when I saw him, I had been off the sauce for 4 days...I've since relapsed.

Basically, in a nutshell - - - I know that I'm an alcoholic, but am terrified of life without alcohol.

Thanks for listening.

-Jump
Old 05-13-2011, 02:58 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hey bud, WELCOME ! Everyone on this board have been exactly where you are. We are all on your side. Keep reading , keep posting. Your going to be very happy you found your way here. You'll find people with long term sobriety and people with one day under there belt. They ALL have wisdom to share. Hard as it may be to believe, your posting here will help someone else stay sober today. That's how it works. We share, we find out we're NOT alone and then support each other in our common goal.

Best wishes, Ron
Old 05-13-2011, 03:01 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Yeah, I've been there, and it's not fun.

If you make the decision to stop drinking, we're here to offer support.
Old 05-13-2011, 03:08 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

I tried to be a normal drinker for 20 years Jump...I was terrified of not drinking because drinking was the centre of my life...

in the end I had to accept facts, and I gave up drinking...it took some work but life got a whole lot better for me