Notices

Live/Kidney Damage Questions/Puffy Face

Old 05-06-2011, 06:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Live/Kidney Damage Questions/Puffy Face

Dear members, I have only been sober for several weeks. I have been drinking very heavy for 10 years. I have had no health problems until several weeks ago when I noticed that my face and eyes were swollen and it continued to remain so. I quit drinking after discovering that alcohol may very well be causing this because of liver and or kidney damage. Since that time I have been taking vitamins, drinking coco nut water, eating fresh garlic cloves and generally exercising every single day. I have not gone to a Dr. at this point. I know that no one can answer a question with certainty because all of our bodies are different and there are many different variables involved. I would like to know if anyone else has experienced the puffy face issue and what that implicated in terms of liver/kidney damage and how stopping drinking corrected the problem. I am only 31 and for some reason still believed that I was invincible like a 20 year old. I hope that I have not done permanent damage that cannot be fixed and will require medical attention for the rest of my life. The facial swelling really scared me when I realized that drinking was the cause and what that implicated. Anyone that has had to deal with puffy swelling and swollen eyes and how since stopping the drinking they are doing???? Thanks....
Old 05-06-2011, 07:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Cleartime, I too had a red, puffy face while drinking. my first liver test showed raised levels of liver enzymes. (which scared me worse). The good news is that quitting drinking and living healthy has got my liver tests back to where they should be. This of course doesn't mean it will be the same for everyone. If I were you I would go to the Dr and have the tests done.

By the way I am 40 and drank heavy for closer to 20 years
Old 05-06-2011, 08:01 PM
  # 3 (permalink)