Notices

I'm new to this

Old 05-01-2011, 12:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm new to this

Hello, I am looking for help, support and experienced advice. My husband is a cocaine user and I have begun to believe that he uses crack also. I've known him since I was 17 and he admitted to me only after we had been in a committed relationship at my age of 27 that he uses cocaine, but it wasn't that bad and he wasn't addicted. I did not like the idea of it, but not knowing anything at all about the drug I continued the relationship believing that he would stop. Now here it is 4 years later, 2 years married with a child and he is still using. He's started to pawn things, I don't trust him at all. I'm so lost right now and I am tired of him trying to make his problems and responsibilities mine. I'm tired of feeling guilty for wanting something better for me and my child. I'm tired of him being a dead weight in my life. I really just want to know where to start. I understand I can't make him want to quit and want to live better. I want to learn to stop enabling him and move on with my life drug and alcohol free. Please advice.
Old 05-01-2011, 12:38 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Carmelapple! I am new here as well. I believe there are threads that are for family members of abusers and they have drug abusers separate from the alcohol abusers, I believe. Take a look at the main page. Hope you get help soon!
Old 05-01-2011, 02:00 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

(((Caramelapple))) - welcome to SR!! Here is the link to a forum full of people who have, or are, going through what you are, though you are most welcome on this thread, too.

Friends and Family of Substance Abusers - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

I'm a recovering crack addict, as well as a recovering codie (codependent) who has loved ones who are/were A's (addicts). Been on both sides of the street.