Notices

how to come out of the "i'm a drunk" closet!

Old 04-06-2011, 04:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

how to come out of the "i'm a drunk" closet!

I've been sober for 8 days! Yeah hooray! And it really does feel quite different most of the time! Other times - like tonight I would love to feel normal, and then I start wondering if I really need to stop drinking....? I know I do, but to do that I'll have to say the words... I don't drink anymore. And that would mean that I drank. Not that I fool myself and think that I was sober for most of my life. In fact I think everyone knew that I drank much more than most people. I wasn't a falling down drunk (well, not every night!) and I became cleverer about drinking at home and not drinking and driving (again, most of the time)....

I suppose it's just pride, having made a complete mess of my life I don't really want to admit that it I was the instigator of it all. I'm a teacher and recently moved to a new place (physically) and now I don't even know people to tell that I don't drink. I haven't told my old drinking buddies that I've stopped drinking, and I'm now avoiding meeting people, 'cause I'm not sure if I can handle being me in a new place without alcohol!

What to do....... I can't sit around at home pondering all of this every night.....
Old 04-06-2011, 05:02 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi newlife,
Congrats on 8 days. That is awesome. I am at day 5 myself, and also a teacher, and also convince myself in the moments that I feel good, "hey what's the big deal if I drink? Look, I stopped for this many days, I don't have a problem!, etc'. Then I count how many times in one day I think about drinking.... when I had a good day at work, when I had a bad day, when I want to socialize, when I just want to watch my favorite movie alone with a 12 rack... whenever I do anything really....
Keep up the good work, and just think how much better we are to our kids and their needs in the morning when we walk into school...sober.