Notices

Withdrawl - Calm before the storm

Old 03-28-2011, 08:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Withdrawl - Calm before the storm

Hi alll - this is my first post. I have spent the last 6hrs visiting various sites and the info and comments here seem to be very helpful.

I have been drinking quite heavily for the last 3 or 4 years - between 1/2 and 1 litre of Vodka every day.

In January I decided enough and started tapering off the qty to the point where a bad day was just less than 1/2 litre and at this point found it really difficult to reduce further due to the shakes, lack of sleep and night sweats.

I went to the Doc's 21st March and explained the problem. He gave me vitamins and told me to continue at that level of drinking and referred my to a support group.

My first meeting with my councillor is 6th April and I did not want to continue drinking for another two weeks so I decided to go cold turkey on 25th March.

I had a bottle on standby just in case it got too much.

I haven't had a drink since the 24th (4 days) and apart from the first few nights with cold sweats and a little insomnia I've felt fine. My emergency bottle remains unopened.

Is this the calm before the storm - has enyone else experienced this?

Any advice gratefully received.
Old 03-28-2011, 08:55 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

After four days sober I'd guess you're over the worst of the physical w/d. Please see your doctor if you have any problems or worries or feel worse.

Welcome to the family. You'll find a lot of support here.
Old 03-28-2011, 09:10 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Glad you have made the decision to quit. The tapering method never worked for me as I could always find a way to talk myself into cracking that last bottle open. I would pour that bottle down the drain if I were in your shoes but please consult with your doctor on the detoxing.
Old 03-28-2011, 09:22 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator