Notices

sober 83 days but have flue and feel massive pull

Old 03-25-2011, 06:28 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

sober 83 days but have flue and feel massive pull

to drink or lose myself in an addiction to kill the pain-winge winge whine blegh
Old 03-25-2011, 06:35 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
SoberOutlook

No need to drink the pain away. You'll just be adding to it. Let it run it's course. Maybe it'll make you stronger in the end. Peace.
Old 03-25-2011, 06:39 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Wow today i have been crazy-i think its called the purple cloud effect [or summut
Old 03-25-2011, 06:51 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I've been sick 3 or 4 times since I've been sober (53 days). I've been wondering if quitting drinking does something to the immune system in the early stages? I also work in a school so exposure to students and bajillions of germs could obviously have something to do with that.
Old 03-25-2011, 06:55 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I was exactly where you are about 2 months ago. I was sooooo sick. I had the flu / cold for about a solid month. Coughing, runny nose, sneezing, and basically felt like complete crap for a month. I didn't drink. I remember thinking, all I would need to do is drink and this pain would temporarily go away. Just realize that is your disease talking. Period. Our disease looks for any little crack in the armor to get us to slip up.

Remember, even though we are not drinking, our disease is in the gym doing push-ups and lifting weights, just waiting for us to come back... As long as we stay in recovery we'll be fine. These thoughts are natural, but the thing not to do is foster them. You quit for a reason. Nothing has changed that would make your decision less valid.

Hang in there. I got through it and am so grateful that I did.

I have never woken up and said "Man, I wish I would have gotten drunk last night".
Old 03-25-2011, 07:14 AM
  # 6 (permalink)