Notices

calling all foodies

Old 03-23-2011, 05:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
orangutan

calling all foodies

I have always enjoyed a good meal with a good wine , my husband is complaining that our meals have become a little bland lately ( not that the meals are bad I am a good cook) but I am not cooking the type of meal we would have a wine with , I have been doing this on purpose so I will not be as tempted to drink but I realise I am being unfair on him, he still wants his wine every now and then and that is fair enough he does not have a problem .
Meal times are hard.
Old 03-23-2011, 05:18 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Totally! I'm in the exact same boat. No comforting words for you. But sharing a bottle of red with my husband over a beautiful dinner is something I miss terribly. Cooking has always been one of my favorite things to do and I'm so sad that it's not the same. I cook a lot with wine too, but haven't wanted to deal with the half full bottle leftover. Sorry, but the substitutions just can't replace the real thing. I lament!!!!!!
Old 03-23-2011, 06:07 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by aussieblue View Post
I have always enjoyed a good meal with a good wine .
You mean you have always enjoyed good wine with a good meal. LOL
Luckily, I don't have anyone in the house that 'enjoys' any alcohol for that reason...but I would think that maybe you should make a regular meal as you would IF you were drinking and have a nice glass of sparkling water with a lemon wedge with it. I am not an expert, but I would think that your habits would have to change and not your husbands. Part of not drinking is changing habits...hence, learning to eat a good meal minus the booze. I have to do the same thing because everytime I go out to eat I'd have a couple beers. Today my son and I hit McDonalds. I haven't been there in absolute ages but wanted to go because they don't serve booze and I wouldn't even have to see it or be tempted.
It's not easy I know. Keep up the good work.