Notices

Newcomer needing help.

Old 03-22-2011, 12:16 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Exclamation Newcomer needing help.

Im new to this and hope i am doing this right. My name is Cail, im a teenager and my boyfriend is an alcoholic. Me and him have been dating for about 7 months and have been friends for years. He also is a drug addict. He went to treatment last summer and was sober for two months, then relapsed. I drank last summer when he was in treatment and when he got out, he relapsed with me and I realized that was a very dumb thing for me to do. The last time we got drunk together was in October. From then we were going to try to stay sober and start going to aa meetings together. I smoked weed in November, so I relapsed..then restarted..he relapsed in December, and we both were sober until he relapsed again in February. I have been "officially" sober since november and I find it difficult at times to stay sober and have sips of whine here and there. When I have urges I just get depressed and want to drink/get high. I don't know what to do because I cannot consider myself an alcoholic or a drug addict..my boyfriend thinks it's really easy for me and it sometimes can be, but when I have urges I have no one to go to for help and when I go to aa with my boyfriend i just feel like a loser because Im not an alcoholic and I don't feel accepted into al-anon enough because I have urges and I'm trying to keep sober. I know that I need to stay sober for my boyfriend so I need more help. I suffer from depression and tried to get help once but I didn't feel like it worked. Drinking was my way of helping my emotions and now when I get depressed I have nothing and i need help on what to do to keep myself sober and to help my boyfriend stay sober.
Old 03-22-2011, 12:26 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Cailz17

Welcome

If you have difficulty staying sober does it really matter what you call it?